Why We Deceive Ourselves (Sometimes)

What Is Skepticism, Anyway?

by Michael Shermer, HuffPostWeekends, 02/01/2013

As the publisher of Skeptic magazine I am often asked what I mean by skepticism, and if I’m skeptical of everything or if I actually believe anything. Skepticism is not a position that you stake out ahead of time and stick to no matter what.

Consider global warming: Are you a global warming skeptic? Or are you skeptical of the global warming skeptics? In this case, I used to be a global warming skeptic, but now I’m skeptical of the global warming skeptics, which makes me a global warming believer based on the facts as I understand them at the moment. The “at the moment” part is what makes conclusions in science and skepticism provisional.

Read more:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/michael-shermer/what-is-skepticism-anyway_b_2581917.html

Leave a Reply

